Foremost Homeowners Insurance Reviews

  • 2.23 / 5 based on 77 Reviews | Submit Your Review
    Satisfaction
    Claims
    Cost
    Billing
    Service
  • Reviewing Foremost?
    Save up to 75%. Compare Quotes Now!
    •  Privacy & Security Protected
    For over 60 years, Foremost Insurance Group has offered a variety of different insurance plans to their customers. They are affiliated with a number of different nationally known companies, and have a series of plans designed in conjunction with them for their specific client bases. Foremost Insurance Group is a member of the Farmers Insurance Group of Companies, and was the first company in the nation to come up with a form of insurance for mobile homes.

    Financial Ratings

    A.M. Best:A
    S&P Rating:A+

    Company Information

    P.O. Box 2450
    Grand Rapids, MI 49501
    (616) 942-3000
    http://foremost.com


    Last Updated: 2020-01-31

    Company Reviews (77)

  • 27 of 27 people found the following review helpful.

    How are they still around?, May, 2016

    Simply put, they are luckyI cannot give negative stars on their behalf. They are always good to you when you call them but the second you file a claim they refuse to pay out anything. I had damage from a tree in my yard during a very powerful storm. Called them and they were courteous. The second their adjuster comes over it turns into a real crap shoot. They refused to pay anything to fix any damages. So now I have toxic mold which also is not covered...how wonderful...glad they try to make a good name for themselves. Tomoro I will be doing research on who all truly covers mobile homes with out sub contracting to foremost. There is no way in hell they deserve another dime from anyone and I really don't see why anyone would keep them around.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Mandan, ND
    • Customer for 1 - 2 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 11 of 11 people found the following review helpful.

    Horrible , May, 2016

    The absolute worst company, they never tell you how bad of a company they are. They will take your money and if you have to file a claim they will take advantage of you.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Guymon, OK
    • 28 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 3 - 5 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 11 of 11 people found the following review helpful.

    worst experience EVER, November, 2015

    I have a Homeowners policy with Foremost for my primary residence (have for 1 year). I called to switch my policy to a landlord policy. Spoke to Trent in sales. We went though all the info re: the house (which they already have). Trent gave me a quote - premium/ coverage. I approved it. Then . . . we kept going ; underwriters, credit check, reading of special policy clauses, etc . .We are Almost Done but the system is down. THE PHONE CALL SO FAR HAS BEEN 47 MINUTES !He will call back. Trent leaves me a voice mail when the system comes back up, I call back. Done. - The next day Foremost calls to ask, do I want to renew my primary home policy. ????? I Track down Trent (not easy, no one knew who I was) - he says WE ONLY GOT AS FAR AS THE QUOTE. Huh ? He thinks the hold-up was that they never got the answer of whether I still lived there. Obviously, I was never asked, cuz I certainly would have known the answer. I have cancelled my policy.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Westport, CT
    • Customer for 1 - 2 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 7 of 7 people found the following review helpful.

    They are God awful the worst insurance company , February, 2017

    headache. I had them for 3yrs & my first claim was my roof which they depreciated that & my second claim was a fire they depreciated everything & made up every excuse of why they were only paying less then what I was covered for. Your personal property is depreciated & you lived hard etc. The insurance claim rep was very rude & disrespectful to me numerous times. Now they are investigating me because they don't want to pay for demolition of my old home. I see a therapist now because I have depression from all of this mess. I have State Farm now they are the best. You would save your wallet & yourself a big head ache if you don't get Foremost for anything.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Roseville, MI
    • 36 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 3 - 5 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 6 of 6 people found the following review helpful.

    Claims Run Around, August, 2016

    Severe roof leaks without any help at all from insurance agent! I have roof replacement estimate which was submitted to agent, with now follow up from except another company coming out to look at the roof.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Tucson, AZ
    • 69 Year Old Male
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 6 of 6 people found the following review helpful.

    if you have kids find another company, August, 2015

    we had water heater damage,ruined our floor,,they sent adjustor,all they have done is destroy our kitchen, lied ,its been over a week,there is no sub floor in our kitchen. i cant stress this enough,,they do not care about you or your family,,they will leave you without water,electric,etc...the adjustor doesnt return calls. they pocket your money,,low ball amount of claim,,that doesnt even cover a fraction of cost of materials,,please beware.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Murfreesboro, TN
    • 41 Year Old Male
    • Customer for 2 - 3 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 4 of 4 people found the following review helpful.

    Slowest Refund ever, June, 2016

    I cancelled my policy 7 weeks ago and I'am due a refund because I was paying 3 months at a time . I have called and emailed weekly getting a complete run around.Thank goodness It wasn't a claim to repair my house. Stay away from these guys nothing but a game to them.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Antioch, IL
    • 52 Year Old Male
    • Customer for 2 - 3 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 3 of 3 people found the following review helpful.

    Will not pay for roof damage, May, 2017

    We have roof damage due to weather they came out and said they didn't see any damage even though there was discoloration on the ceiling they wouldn't pay unless the roof caved in .

    A roofer came out started taking off shingles and almost fell through a hole that Foremost couldn't see we've had insurance with them for 20 years and haven't filed a claim now that we need to they refuse to pay if we could get someone else to insure out doublewide I would drop them so fast

    VERY UNSATISFIED CUSTOMER! !

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Mebane, NC
    • 52 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 3 of 3 people found the following review helpful.

    Avoid Them. Horrible!, November, 2016

    After 30 years with an insurance company, we were dropped for filing a couple claims after a harsh winter in "The Windy City". It's called that for a reason. Sadly, once you file claims, other insurance companies don't want to accept you. Foremost did. Once they did, they expected us to IMMEDIATELY repair our siding, fascia and garage door, as well as replace our roof. I had been unemployed for quite some time and had lost both parents within a two month span. Therefore, doing household repairs had to take a back seat. So, they dropped us. Made sure to collect the money for six months, only to drop us. But, after reading the reviews, I'll go with a much better agency. Everything happens for a reason, right?

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Melrose Park, IL
    • Customer for Less than 6 Months
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 3 of 3 people found the following review helpful.

    Horrendous Customer Service, September, 2016

    You are paying them and the customer service acts like they are doing you a favor. A simple request and the answer is "not our policy" It is a legitimate request, "Why is it not policy." THEY INSULT YOUR INTELIGENCE and use passive aggressive tactics by directly avoiding answering and if you press them on it they hang up. As a result I WENT AND LOOKED FOR ANOTHER COMPANY! I found one 2/3 CHEAPER which amounts to hundreds of dollars.

    THESE PEOPLE ARE SCAMMERS.....and that is why they don't answer questions directly. THEY ARE BOILER PLATE SCRIPTED SCAMMERS.

    I called them up and THANKED THEM FOR THEIR RUDENESS, without that I would have never looked for another company who gave me a realistic price for what I was insuring. I dropped Foremost like a hot potato. Geico steered me to them. Geico is no bargain either. They only give you six month insurance and RAISE THE RATE with every "Renewal." That is the scam right their justifying a raise by call it "renewal."

    I want to thank the arrogant people at Foremost for forcing me to look elsewhere that turned into a blessing in disguise!!! Foremost saved me hundreds of $$$$$$$$$$ by me having to cancel them. YOU DON'T GIVE PAYING CUSTOMERS A HARD TIME IF YOU WANT TO KEEP THEM PAYING. Simple rule of good salesmanship.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Kingsport, TN
    • Customer for Less than 6 Months
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 2 of 2 people found the following review helpful.

    do not use foremost!, August, 2017

    I called to cancel and was told that I was unable to do it on the phone. I then requested a supervisor and was promptly disconnected. I had found a much cheaper rate so make sure you shop around first.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Elbert, CO
    • Customer for 1 - 2 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 2 of 2 people found the following review helpful.

    Foremost / Dan Gryzwa Terrible Company, August, 2016

    Paid premiums for homeowners insurance for 12 years. Two years ago they reduce coverage, while taking the same premium and my not knowing that. Dan Gryzwa agency in Omaha never advised me of this.

    Now, hail damage and Foremost will not cover the damage.

    do not do business with Foremost or Dan Gryzwa Agnecy of Omaha....explore your options.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Minneapolis, MN
    • 61 Year Old Male
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 48 of 49 people found the following review helpful.

    Possibly worst Insurance Company I've ever hear of, February, 2016

    Have been a Foremost customer for many years for home insurance on a property I rent out in town. Property was rented by my grandmother, and she became ill and went in a nursing home. House was vandalized, copper wiring and piping ripped out of walls, and foremost paid pennies on the dollar for replacement cost because they say the material 'depreciated.' Trying to find additional $ to repaire, and get a contractor, and then grandma passed away. Shortly after, while on vacation out of state with my family at Christmans time, someone broke into the house and set fire to it inside. Foremost is dragging their feet on the claim, and is treating me like I am an arsonist. They have been very devious during this process, lying and misleading constantly.

    I recommend to the fullest extent that you avoid doing business with this company. No matter how low the price, it is no value when they won't pay out on a claim. These people are the worst insurance company I have ever heard of or dealt with myself.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Kokomo, IN
    • Female
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 31 of 32 people found the following review helpful.

    Absolute fail from this company, June, 2015

    I was in the process of purchasing a home with a carriage house. I had a quote drawn up and it seemed kind of expensive, however, I had to go with it as my closing on this home was dependent on getting the quote turned into a policy quickly, at every turn Foremost made me wait and wait, sometimes days for an answer on various items. Not only did Foremost waste 2 weeks of my time, it turns out they wont guarantee replacement value of the structures, absolutely unbelievable. I ended up getting quotes from State Farm and Farmers Insurance, to get the closing done on time, but they held me hostage while they deliberated 2 weeks on this clause. This company is absolutely horrible, avoid them at all costs.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Denver, CO
    • 38 Year Old Male
    • Customer for Less than 6 Months
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 30 of 31 people found the following review helpful.

    Lack of Disclosure on Water Damage, May, 2015

    I purchased a policy with Foremost (via USAA) for my vacant home (property was for sale), during the Winter of 2015.

    My furnace stopped working for about 2 - 4 days which resulted in 10 pipes bursting in the home.

    I attempted to make a claim and was notified that my Policy did not cover water damage due to pipes bursting in the home.

    ISSUE: They should have made it very clear this was not part of the policy when I purchased the policy. Living in Michigan this is a real issue and concern for home owners. It definitely seems like a reasonable request to make it clear this issue is not covered.

    I feel lucky I did not have a bigger issue with my water damage ($8K).

    I hope anyone considering a vacant home policy is aware water damage (internal water) is not covered by Foremost.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Bloomfield Hills, MI
    • Male
    • Customer for Less than 6 Months
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 27 of 28 people found the following review helpful.

    Only HORRIBLE choice for mfd homes, May, 2016

    Don't think for a moment that Foremost is interested in taking care of their customers! You pay premiums, and they find a technicality to NOT pay Claims!

    IF WE HAD ANY OTHER CHOICE, THEY WOULD BE FIRED!

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Burnet, TX
    • Customer for 3 - 5 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 27 of 28 people found the following review helpful.

    Worthless, March, 2015

    They claimed the house after my brother passed away. All the furnishings were there and we were at the house everyday cleaning and fixing up 8-10 hours a day. They claimed it was vacant and insured it as such. A water pipe broke during the night (did not freeze as heat was on). Made a claim and they refused to pay a dime of the damages. Wouldn't even come and look.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Portage, MI
    • Female
    • Customer for Less than 6 Months
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 27 of 28 people found the following review helpful.

    Poor claim resolution, February, 2015

    I have insured my park model in FL thru Foremost since 2008. My annual premiums started at $1,000./year and most recently was $1400. to insure a 2008 Skyline. I recently filed my first and only claim due to the loss of roof shingles due to the wind. It took them over two weeks to issue a payment for this claim for my loss. To me that equates to poor claim settlement. I would not recommend them to even my worst enemy.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Arcadia, FL
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 20 of 21 people found the following review helpful.

    Terrible company; not recommended in the slightest, January, 2016

    Not once but three times they canceled my insurance without warning, sending me notice weeks later in the mail. I would have to call to find out why. Once it was because the underwriter saw carpentry material in the garage and thought we were working on the house without "consent". (No work was being done.) The policy was immediately canceled without contacting me. No questions, no calls, no mail, the underwriter just decided to assume we were in some kind of violation and straight up canceled the policy. Unbelievable. And three times!

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Lafayette, LA
    • Customer for 3 - 5 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 39 of 41 people found the following review helpful.

    Negative 5stars They're thieves and liars, September, 2015

    Denied my storm damage claim and left me with soaked floor under the carpet, between the new insulation and belly wrap of this manufactured home. Refused to acknowledge the actual area of hail damage where the water entered and are trying to say it was all due to poorly maintained roof, which is absolutely not the case at all. They denied the claim and left me in despair after taking my money and failing to honor their contract. Hiring lawyer and filing complaint with state insurance dept as well as preparing to take them to court. 3 weeks now and the longer this goes unrepaired, the likelier this home will be a total loss. They sent out Ryan Conlogue, a 35 year old with no experience, been with the co as an adjusted 21 months, only has a Bachelor of Science in Hotel Management and only prior employment was working for Vanguard, stealing money from 401k benefits. He denied my claim and then they sent Will Hancock from D C Restoration, another bought off guy who adjusts for Foremost here in northern Az. He screwed me to keep them from paying the claim too. Trying to get a public adjuster to come all the way up here, but I'm a disabled Veteran on a poor income and now very poor. Winter is coming and I'll likely lose this home I just invested $56,000 into and was nearly done restoring. They don't care and I warn you to avoid doing business with this company. They're liars and thieves. They take your money but they have no honor or integrity. They purposefully avoided acknowledging the storm damage and tried to say the rain damage inside was caused by something else and negligent roof maintenance which is total bull crap. That didn't even make sense, because everyone knows water falls down, not up. There's no way the water could have gone where it went if it came in from anyplace other than where I am pointing out the storm damage, yet they refuse to see it.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Overgaard, AZ
    • Male
    • Customer for 1 - 2 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 17 of 18 people found the following review helpful.

    THEY DONT PAY , September, 2016

    I HAD A HOUSE FIRE EARLER THIS YEAR AND ALL THE CONTRACTORS WAS BUSY FOR UP TO 6 MONTHS SO I ASKED MY AGENT IF I COULD DO THE REPAIRS MY SELF HE SAID YES SO I DID AND I HIRED A GUY TO HELP ME. THE REPAIRS ARE DONE NOW AND I SENT MY AGENT PICS OF THEM AND NOW THEY DONT WANT TO SEND THE REST OF THE MONEY THAT THEY OWE ME I AM OUT OF MY POCKET OVER $4000.00 THAT I LOST I HAVE TALKED TO A LAWER. I ALSO LOST OVER 1500 IN FOOD SINCE THE POWER IS OFF .

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Centre, AL
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 39 of 42 people found the following review helpful.

    Foremost Horrible company to do Business with, February, 2015

    Horrible customer service they have no problem taking your money. But then 3 months later canceled our home insurance do to a Tab missing on the roof and stated we needed a whole new roof. HORRIBLE

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Jackson, MI
    • Customer for Less than 6 Months
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 13 of 14 people found the following review helpful.

    The WORST, April, 2016

    I wish I could give them less than one star. My husband was injured in a house explosion. He literally walked into our friends home and it exploded from a gas leak. He was airlifted to a burn unit 2 hours from our home. Our bills totaled almost $100,000. These crooks offered us $1000. We will never, EVER use this company. I strongly recommend no one else does either.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Donovan, IL
    • 32 Year Old Female
    • Customer for Less than 6 Months
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 8 of 9 people found the following review helpful.

    Horrible. Doesn't cover anything, September, 2015

    Had storm damage on roof started leaking in my home through light fixtures and the company refused to cover anything inside and barely covered the roof. Actually didn't cover the entire roof cost. Completely unsatisfied. Customer service was horrible. Agent that called wanted to argue. Was the worst decision ever made to go with this company. If my home catches on fire it is the companies fault because I thought damage would be covered and it wasn't. I have to simply try to deal with leaking electrical because of storm damage. I will make this public and try my best to make sure people cancel their insurance with this company and never choose it again.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Union, SC
    • Customer for 2 - 3 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 17 of 20 people found the following review helpful.

    Horrible Insurance Agency & Adjusters, August, 2014

    We had home ins with Foremost for a year. This past January when we had the really cold weather, out pipes burst. My mothers bathroom ceiling started leaking a few days afterwards, so I called and reported that, not knowing that it was going to make them non-renew our policy. Nevertheless, I have an email from the adjuster stating that it wasn't going to be covered and I told him that I was fine with that. He emailed me a letter stating that he and I had agreed to withdraw that claim and I ASKED HIM WOULD THAT GO AGAINST US AND HIS WORDS WERE NO BC YOU ARE WITHDRAWING THE CLAIM. He was very rude to me and my mother. So if you live in North Miss beware of the this ins co and their adjusters bc they are very nasty, rude and ask questions that doesn't concern them. That what we pay insurance for. My mother has worked all her life and we've never been a family to abuse ins companies like other people do. We use it when we need to and these were incidents that we could not help, yet we get penalized for it. We've got insurance at another great company and we are very pleased bc we got several discounts that were helpful towards our monthly premium. And we bundled!

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Corinth, MS
    • Customer for 1 - 2 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 17 of 20 people found the following review helpful.

    increased premiums, April, 2012

    they increased our cost from 475.00 in 2010 to 731.00 a more than 50% increase in just a two year period. We feel this is too much and are looking for anew carrier.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Branson, MO
    • Customer for 3 - 5 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 14 of 17 people found the following review helpful.

    very good at time of need fast estimates, September, 2012

    had storm one night appraiser there next day issued check on spot

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Mission, TX
    • 70 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 4 of 5 people found the following review helpful.

    EXCELLENT, December, 2015

    THEY INSURE MY 36' DIESEL PUSHER MOTOR HOME. I WILL NOT CHANGE THEM.

    THIS INSURANCE QUOTE IS FOR MY PRIMARY RESIDENCE NOT CLOSED ON YET... NEW PURCHASE as of DECEMBER 22, 2015.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Plymouth, NC
    • 61 Year Old Female
    • Customer for Less than 6 Months
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 4 of 5 people found the following review helpful.

    Very Reasonable Costs, October, 2015

    The price was very reasonable for the coverage provided.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Milford, PA
    • 54 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 10 of 13 people found the following review helpful.

    renewal, October, 2012

    agent called and said premiums were rising to unbelievable prices and he knew i couldn't afford anymore.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Bull Shoals, AR
    • 64 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 11 of 15 people found the following review helpful.

    cost of insurance, October, 2012

    insurance got to expensive for my home with my current company. My agent CALLED me and recomended I find new insurance which I am having a very hard time doing. Not fair.....

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Bull Shoals, AR
    • 64 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 8 of 11 people found the following review helpful.

    Dropped, renewed, dropped, November, 2013

    Someone said my dog bit them. After 6 months my family convinced me to do it, so I ended up going through my homeowners (claim was $800). They dropped me. I found one company, but it didn't cover me well. I needed adequate insurance, so I went to my bank. They found me someone at an incredible rate increase, but I had to have it. It ended up being with Foremost, so I figured they had decided to renew me with a larger rate. It had been a year since the first dog bite...well, she bit again. The person found out my insurance and put in claim without my knowledge. Now Foremost is blaming me for having them as my insurance because they dropped me before. They are saying I lied on my application...which I didn't. Probably not going to pay this claim and are dropping me again. (BTW...the first claim is still open. Just found THAT out! It's been almost a year!) Nightmare.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Harrisburg, NC
    • Customer for 1 - 2 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 10 of 14 people found the following review helpful.

    September, 2012

    Just don't like the high cost of insurance for my mobile home.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Iron Mountain, MI
    • 52 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 1 - 2 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 5 of 7 people found the following review helpful.

    CANCELLED!, July, 2015

    I have dutifully paid my insurance premium for 5 years. Three years ago I had a minor claim from a tree falling on my house. Over the subsequent three years I have payed a "loss surcharge", which now totals almost $1,000. The actual claim was not much more than that, however I accepted the surcharge as a cost of doing business, remaining grateful for coverage at the time it was needed. I have had no other claims.

    Recently I converted this property to a rental. Tonight I opened an unexpected letter informing me that my policy is being CANCELLED. After I called to rewrite my policy for the rental, Foremost (capriciously) decided to no longer insure the property in a brush fire area, even though it has been insured there for more than 5 years.

    This is an incredibly flippant decision, especially in the light of my diligence as a customer.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Idaho Springs, CO
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 7 of 10 people found the following review helpful.

    November, 2012

    good company, comparing rates

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Walsenburg, CO
    • 60 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 6 of 9 people found the following review helpful.

    cheaper insurance, September, 2012

    I'm living mostly on Social Security and need to find something a little less expensive. I like to deal locally.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Sebring, FL
    • 68 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 2 of 3 people found the following review helpful.

    horrable stay away at all costs, April, 2016

    as title states horrable stay away at all costs. they scam u take your money but when u have a problem want to file a clam they act as if u are owed a claim. been with them for 5 years had major wind damage on April 2nd 2016 called them Jeffery way

    came out looked at our property he said he would cover us for window replacement. so then i find out we previously supposedly filed a claim in 2012 and was denied for the window's. So you tell us one then then do another. After that we had jenna Hernandez come out and from the start even though she admitted jeffery was wrong and made a mistake would not horror his mistake. So i kept asking her to show proof that the damages were not from the win her own excuse was the wood was rotted from the rain and i said i dont see any proof of the wood being black and molded from rain damage. and ask her to prove it there was no proof. Also then she tells me we had a claim that we were approved for in 2012 originally which was siding. funny how they said there program assessed the damage at 387 and since we have a 1000$ deductible we wont get any money. its funny how i never got a letter in the mail stating this . also whose to say a real contractors cost would not cost over a 1000 . playing games just to not have to pay out any owed claim due to wind damage. to make a long story short. do not use them as all, they will rob u blind and treat u as if u are trash found on the side of the road no joke. will not allow this to be over until i have a lawyer contact them. If u want due research on the policy pay a bit more get a real policy as there policy is worthless.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Cincinnati, OH
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 8 of 15 people found the following review helpful.

    Good coverage at decent price., July, 2015

    I'm giving them a good review because all the bad reviews are simply from ignorant people who do not understand the policy they are buying and how things work... They were upfront with me about what they do and don't cover. It isn't hard folks.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Oshkosh, WI
    • Male
    • Customer for Less than 6 Months
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 4 of 8 people found the following review helpful.

    owner, September, 2012

    best company for mobile home

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Warner, OK
    • 61 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 2 of 4 people found the following review helpful.

    Best Company Ever!, August, 2016

    Foremost offered better coverage for less money. Also I like the flexibility of covering what is needed instead of some package with too much coverage and high premiums.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Shreveport, LA
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.

    Horrific policy writing, August, 2019

    Came over from farmers insurance as it was presented as less expensive with all the same benefits. This was for a rental home. First foremost field person claimed they visited the home and claimed it was empty. Wrong. You can see thru the front door and see lots of furniture. Also elderly parents home all the time. Cars in drive always so they lied about the visit. Did not want to ensure me til they saw the rental policy. I want extended coverage now as it is a very upscale home. Will they come out and look ? Nope. Told me I need to pay for an appraisal. Told them I know what a subzero and high end convection ovens cost. Still fighting with them. What a joke they are. Stay far far away from these scam artists.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Torrance, CA
    • 30 Year Old Male
    • Customer for 6 Months - 1 Year
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.

    SCAMS, LIARS, THIEVES, April, 2019

    I cancelled them in October of 2018 and told them I would not do business with them again. I blocked all debits by them from my bank account. Yesterday, 4/10/19 I received a letter from them saying they reinstated my insurance in February and I owe them $782,00 I ABSOLUTELY DID NOT REQUEST REINSTATEMENT. KMA FOREMOST!!!

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Portola, CA
    • 83 Year Old Female
    • Customer for Less than 6 Months
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.

    Not a good policy to have , August, 2018

    I had them come to my house for a water problem and they said it's not covered because it has to be from Natural Causes.. Well it rained for 4 weeks straight and the problem started to exist. NOPE they wont cover it. Basically, if have insurance thru them unless your house floods and gets swept down the river or burns to the ground they will not cover a claim.. FOREMOST & FARMERS are owned by same company.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Northampton, PA
    • Customer for 1 - 2 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.

    Very disappointed and upset., October, 2017

    We bought our manufactured home, used, in 2012. The previous owner had Foremost and as there was no other choice that is who we use. I have never filed a claim on homeowners insurance before and was very nervous about the process, with good reason.

    The roof on our home is 25 years old. Shingle roof. When hurricane Irma came through we ended up with a hole in the roof over the front bedroom. We patched and tarped the roof hoping it would hold until we could do better to get it fixed. Not long after, Nate came through our area and of course the roof leaked, really poured, and the ceiling in the front bedroom fell through. We called Foremost and explained everything and the costumer service rep was extremely nice and supportive, however, the claims adjuster we got was a real piece of work. He came, walked the roif, took a couple of pictures and left. We got an email a couple of days later that we would get $500 to fix the roof and replace the ceiling in the bedroom. That won't cover the cost if the ceiling much less replace a roof. The adjuster was an ass. Plain and simple. Now we have a ceiling that is continuing to fall in because the insulation throughout the entire roof is wet and more shingles continue to fall off the roof. We have no idea what we are going to do because we can't pull $5,000 out of thin air to fix everything. Thanks for nothing Foremost!

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Georgetown, GA
    • 52 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 3 - 5 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.

    roof damage from tree, October, 2017

    these agents are clueless when it comes to roof damage or they are very well trained to act stupid.Told us our roof is to old to be covered for coverage of tree damage I'm amazed at how they take advantage of the elderly and that they use AARP to do it this company sucks.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Coventry, RI
    • 69 Year Old Male
    • Customer for 2 - 3 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.

    Poor Claims Service, October, 2017

    We had a fire in our home. It took the adjustor five days to show up and then tell us that we are overinsured and they couldn't pay us the amount of our policy. Now I am not getting any help from them at all. We lost our mobile home and all the contents including clothes and are living in a camper. I believe they are trying to blame us for the fire which they can't as the fire marshal made a determination it started in our clothes dryer. They have already sent out their own investigator and he was out here 4 hours and said it started in the washing machine. They said they have to send out another investigator and I told them if they did he would be arrested and prosecuted for tresspassing. Now they want me to give them access to our bank account and credit report which is irrevelant and not happening. I told them if I didn't have a settlement offer by Friday I will be hiring a lawyer. This is one of the few companies that writes policies for older mobile homes but I do no recommend them at all.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Moscow Mills, MO
    • 55 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 6 Months - 1 Year
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.

    Not recommended!!!, September, 2017

    My mom passed away 5-20-2017 and I cancelled everything she had in one phone call except this policy. They would tell me to send in more paperwork every time I called to make sure it was cancelled and finally after about 6 calls and emails, the policy was cancelled from the day she passed away. The policy was only a mobile home policy but their only goal was to keep the money that was supposed to be sent back to me. I cancelled Mom's social security, medicare and all other insurances and never had an issue with any other ins except Foremost. I would never recommend this ins to anyone!!!!! Customer service is horrible!!!

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Norwalk, OH
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.

    Don't do it., March, 2017

    I took out insurance with this company, as I have 4 houses, 5 cars. Paid them about $4700 up front less than 1 month ago. I have a better than average credit rating with 1 minor claim 2 years ago on 1 rental home. I came home this week with 2 different letters from this so called insurance company. I was being notified that 2 of my houses were being terminated immediately because they had trampolines in the yard and a few popped up shingles. No notice to remove or fix problems. Just being cancelled. This has caused undue stress and lots of time and money.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Cartersville, GA
    • 60 Year Old Male
    • Customer for Less than 6 Months
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.

    6 year client called liar by James in Wenatchee , January, 2017

    After six years of policy we sold our home and canceled, it took several phone calls to fix, I was called a liar by James the apparent owner of Wenatchee Washington branch when i told him we canceled and need $47.50 refund!!!I will never use this company Again!!! Whitney at corporate # was lovely and helpful and apologetic to the treatment.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Stanwood, WA
    • Female
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 1 of 2 people found the following review helpful.

    Don't Waste Your Money!, November, 2016

    This insurance company WILL NOT help you! We had a major leak that damaged our floor and filed a claim with the insurance company. They sent one man out to inspect the leak and he only took about 3 pictures didn't even measure or go under the house to inspect it (because he already made up his mind they were not going to help us). We called and made them send another man out to the house who did a much better inspection and told us to our faces that he saw that it was a leak that hadn't been there long and the damage was new. We thought they were going to help us, but we were wrong. Not only did they not help with any financial repairs, they expected us to pay for the new sub-floor completely out-of-pocket and then put us in bad standing until the new floor was repaired and we got new top floor, trim and everything. We pay for insurance so we can get financial help in situations out of our control like this - there is no point in paying Foremost any money because THEY WILL NOT HELP YOU!!

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Newberry, SC
    • Customer for 1 - 2 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.

    cancelled for no reason, August, 2016

    i purchased a vacation home and used a local agency for insurance, they in turn used foremost as the insurer. I paid for 1 year as i work overseas and would not be available for monthly paying. when the 1 year was up i again went into the agency office and paid for another year. when my wife called to ask the agency how much we owed for the advance payment for the 3rd year she was told our insurance was cancelled in June by foremost of lack of payment. $40.00. The agency could not tell us why or what happened after we paid what they told us we owed for the year and why foremost said we owed additionl money. The agency told us they would look into it and give us an answer but the only response we recieved was a refund check from foremost for $97.00. Cancelled because they say we owed an additional $40.00 and then refund us $97.00. We have not filed any claims, just wanted to pay our premiums and be covered. How can they cancel because they say we owed an additional $40.00 and then refund us $97.00. They will never get another penny of my money and I will make it a point to tell everyone I know how crooked and cheap I think they are and warn against using them. I feel sure that since we were treated like we were without filing a claim that if we were to file a claim the outcome would not be favorable. Don't waste your hard earned money with these frauds. I will also find another agency.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Hemphill, TX
    • Male
    • Customer for 1 - 2 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.

    Not happy!!!!, July, 2016

    I have been with Formost for 13 yrs. An there prices have gone up a thousand dollars in the past 3 yrs. I called to see if I could get a better rate since I have never had a claim. They laught at me an said there is nothing they can do because I lived in Harris county. After the flood they did not help me at all.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Hockley, TX
    • 52 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.

    Worst company ever!!!!!!, June, 2016

    They charged me on my rental properties. After a month, a cancellation letter was sent to me due to the roof condition of one property. Then after two months, another cancellation letter was sent to me due to a panel missing on the garage door of my other property. Avoid this company at all time, what a waste of money and time!

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Laramie, WY
    • Customer for Less than 6 Months
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 0 of 1 people found the following review helpful.

    Discount with Auto, July, 2015

    Cost was lower than any other. they are going out of business in Pa..

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Palmerton, PA
    • 74 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

    Don’t use this company , May, 2019

    Awful. Absolutely awful. They overcharged me and I had to jump thru hoops to get my money back. Cancelled after several attempts. Awful go somewhere, anywhere else.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Shreveport, LA
    • 60 Year Old
    • Customer for 3 - 5 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

    RIP-OFF, April, 2019

    SIX MONTHS AFTER I CANCELLED IT BECAUSE THEY CONSTANTLY INCREASED PAYMENTS. I TOLD THEM NOT TO CONTACT ME AGAIN, THEY REINSTATED IT (WITHOUT MY PERMISSION) AND BILLED ME FOR MORE THAN $700.00!!! I WAS ALREADY INSURED WITH GEICO.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Portola, CA
    • 83 Year Old Female
    • Customer for Less than 6 Months
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

    Pick another company, March, 2018

    Don't use this insurance company. I wish I had looked up the Company's reputation before I used them. It only took a second to see all the complaints, what a horrible reputation. They will do whatever they can to weasel their way out of paying for damage. They are part of Farmers also, so I won't trust farmers ever again.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Forsyth, MT
    • Female
    • Customer for 3 - 5 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

    terrible, February, 2018

    Made a claim all the adjuster could say is what they would not cover. Ended up filing a claim on wrong piece of property I own. Even sent letters to wrong address. I thought i was in the twilight zone. What a joke did the repairs myself.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Little Hocking, OH
    • 51 Year Old Male
    • Customer for 1 - 2 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

    Don't Use Them, September, 2017

    My father purchased this insurance for his mobile home and was with them for years. He past away last February and I am still fighting with them to stop his policy and issue a refund to his estate. His mobile home was sold and they are still running me in circles it is now September. And they are an AARP company which makes me pause to rethink what AARP has to offer me as I am also a senior now.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Wappingers Falls, NY
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

    Fire loss wont reimburse, July, 2017

    Foremost Insurance has lost a future customer. Beware if your neighbor has a policy with Foremost and something happens on there side of the fence. My next door neighbors mobile home caught fire and was a total loss. Catching our mobile home on fire. We had exterior damage melted Vinyl skirting carport caught fire wood areas ect..... Our insurance company stepped in with our repairs but our deductible was withheld and was to be Reimbursement Through Foremost Ins. Now we are told they will not reimburse us as there was no "Negligence" is the word I believe we were told. So how is it we were negligent and should have to eat the deductible because the neighbors house caught fire and damaged us????? Come on Foremost your inspector was here you saw the losses what's the deal.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Carson, CA
    • 54 Year Old Male
    • Customer for Less than 6 Months
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

    Make It Very Difficult To Cancel Policy, December, 2016

    I cancelled my policy but they continued to take money out of my checking account. It turns out they have very exacting information requirements to cancel a policy, and if you don't get it exactly right, the policy is not canceled... but they don't tell you. They just keep taking money.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Tualatin, OR
    • Customer for Less than 6 Months
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

    Premiums double , July, 2016

    After 10 years with Foremost my premium Doubled without ever having filed a claim. I will be searching for a new provider asap.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Beaufort, SC
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

    DISCRIMINATION!, March, 2016

    I was denied property insurance coverage, as their written letter states "the age of the applicant". This is age discrimination!

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Fort Worth, TX
    • Female
    • Customer for Less than 6 Months
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

    Rates more than doubled in 2016, February, 2016

    I have been with Foremost over 7 years. After contacting Foremost to find out why my rates more than doubled I was given the run-around. I will be shopping elsewhere.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Beaufort, SC
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

    Worst customer service, February, 2016

    Called to get a quote and the customer service representative barely asked 3 questions about the home before giving me a quote that was 2 times more than other quotes I received. When I asked him to email it to me, he just instantly hung up. And didn't email me a single thing. Rude and unprofessional.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Florence, SC
    • Customer for Less than 6 Months
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 4 of 10 people found the following review helpful.

    Foremost-leaving area, January, 2013

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Clermont, FL
    • 82 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 3 of 8 people found the following review helpful.

    October, 2012

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Burkesville, KY
    • 56 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 3 - 5 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 2 of 8 people found the following review helpful.

    September, 2012

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Springfield, LA
    • 55 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 1 of 4 people found the following review helpful.

    October, 2012

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Tavares, FL
    • 65 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 1 of 4 people found the following review helpful.

    October, 2012

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Sebring, FL
    • 72 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 1 of 4 people found the following review helpful.

    September, 2012

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Farmington, ME
    • 57 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 1 of 5 people found the following review helpful.

    August, 2012

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Mobile, AL
    • 56 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 2 - 3 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 1 of 6 people found the following review helpful.

    January, 2013

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Palmview, TX
    • 76 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 1 of 6 people found the following review helpful.

    September, 2012

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Center Hill, FL
    • 73 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 0 of 5 people found the following review helpful.

    December, 2012

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Bluff City, TN
    • 39 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 0 of 4 people found the following review helpful.

    September, 2012

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Kissimmee, FL
    • 76 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 0 of 4 people found the following review helpful.

    August, 2012

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Kansas City, MO
    • 55 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

More About Foremost

Foremost Insurance Group is licensed for all 50 states, and boasts that their claims representatives are available 24/7/365, or all of the time -- for whatever problems may arise. Foremost offers an array of standard insurance plans, like those for homeowners, however, they also insure many things that other insurance companies do not. The full list is as follows:

  • Business Insurance
    • Umbrella
    • Worker's Compensation
    • Commercial Auto
  • Automobile Insurance
  • Home Insurance
  • Motor Home Insurance
  • Fifth-Wheel Insurance
  • Travel Trailer Insurance
  • Luxury Motor Coach Insurance
  • Mobile Home Insurance
  • Vacant Home Insurance
  • Landlord and Rental Home Insurance
  • Seasonal Home Insurance
  • Motorcycle Insurance
  • Off-Road Vehicle Insurance
  • Scooter Insurance
  • Golf Cart Insurance
  • Neighborhood Electric Vehicle Insurance
  • Snowmobile Insurance
  • Personal Watercraft Insurance
  • Boat Insurance
  • Collectible Automobile Insurance
  • Flood Insurance

Foremost Insurance Group offers a series of discounts depending on the policy. For example, you could receive a discount for paying electronically online, combining policies and paying for an entire years' worth of coverage all at once. Their website contains details on all of their policies, and states how to qualify for a discount.

In order to get insurance coverage through Foremost Insurance Group, you can either submit an online quote request through their website, call their 1-800 number, or contact a specific local Foremost Insurance Group agency. However, some of their insurance products are not available in all fifty states - you can receive flood insurance coverage through Foremost no matter where you live in the United States, but can only receive automobile insurance in 43 states.