Auto Owners Homeowners Insurance Reviews

  • 1.98 / 5 based on 42 Reviews | Submit Your Review
    Satisfaction
    Claims
    Cost
    Billing
    Service
  • Reviewing Auto Owners?
    Save up to 75%. Compare Quotes Now!
    •  Privacy & Security Protected

    Auto-Owners Insurance Group is known for its strength and reliability. The company was started in 1916 by Vern V. Moulton. After several years of operation in Michigan, the company expanded to include coverage in the nearby states of Indiana and Ohio. Auto-Owners is affiliated with Owners Insurance Company, Home-Owners Insurance Company, Property-Owners Insurance Company and Southern-Owners Insurance Company.

    Financial Ratings

    A.M. Best:A++

    Company Information

    P.O. Box 30660
    Lansing, MI 48909
    (517) 323-1200
    (517) 391-1901 (Fax)
    http://auto-owners.com


    Last Updated: 2019-11-20

    Company Reviews (42)

  • 11 of 11 people found the following review helpful.

    You can not trust them, December, 2017

    We filed a claim. They lied to us and keep dragging it out. The claims adjuster is a liar. Don’t trust them. Find an honest company to get insurance from.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Detroit, MI
    • Female
    • Customer for 3 - 5 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 3 of 3 people found the following review helpful.

    Every tactic Used to avoid payment of Valid claim, June, 2018

    We had a valid claim for storm, water intrusion damage to home. owners paid a portion of the claim, but have been fighting tooth and nail and using every tactic to avoid paying for replacement of our tile floor which has been collapsing and coming loose Since time of the storm.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Surprise, AZ
    • 64 Year Old Male
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 2 of 2 people found the following review helpful.

    Replacement Coverage is a lie, November, 2019

    Lightening strike blew out several appliances and three AC units. First you suffer the deductible, that I understand. Then you find that they have underestimated replacement value of everything. Plus, on the AC they don't want to replace, only repair, which has been damn near impossible. And they only pay half. You have to come up with the other half OUT OF YOUR OWN POCKET to pay for what needs replacing then turn in receipt for balance to be paid. I had no idea that this was the scam when I bought the so called "replacement" insurance. After suffering the deductible you have to be a rich man to front the replacement costs and wait for reimbursement. Totally ridiculous. I also asked for a print out of what was covered by the initial check they sent for partial list of items. They refused to put anything into writing. Unethical, deceitful, dishonest.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Dacula, GA
    • Customer for 2 - 3 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 2 of 2 people found the following review helpful.

    Most ridiculous claim experience ever., August, 2019

    After holding an Auto Owners policy on my home for almost 10 years we had an inside water line break. It was covered by insurance (in theory).

    The claims adjustor "estimated" the damage was $1,000. We had just remodeled the home, so I was very aware of costs for repair, and $1,000 didn't even begin to cover the damage. I had to hunt down bids from drywall, mitigation, paint, and flooring companies. Sure enough, they were over $7,000.

    One month later, and I am still fighting to get repair work authorized. Our claims adjust has "dug in their heels" on totally fictional prices, like being able to hire a drywall contractor to repair ~150 sq. ft. of wall for $180, including T&M. The list goes on and on, with estimate prices they can in no way show match to any real world. In the mean time they have disregarded low price, licensed and bonded contractor estimates.

    So, a month later my home is still torn apart. My pregnant wife can not use the space we had just remodeled to help her, my garage is unusable because it is storing all of the furniture in the damaged rooms, and I have dumped over 10 hours into just trying to get Auto Owners to pay *any* contractor to come and fix my home and get it back to the condition it was in before the damage. There is literally no point to insurance from this company. Take that monthly payment and stick it in the bank. You will have a much better chance of dealing with issues.

    ZERO STARS.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Sandy, UT
    • 38 Year Old Male
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 2 of 2 people found the following review helpful.

    Worthless, July, 2019

    Had a hailstorm on 5/16/2019 and again on 5/18/2019. Turned in claim, claim advisor didn't introduce himself but did state" I just denied a claim down the road for no hail damage, so I'm sure I won't find any here either." Argued with me and the roofing contractor until I told him to get off my property. Claim Denied. Called and spoke with Gerald Valesquez- very rude guy; had to to speak with his supervisor who was also rude. They refused to send another advisor until I threatened to turn them into the state . Decided to send a state engineer named Chris Dick. I was told the engineer wouldn't know about the claim before arriving, however, they sent the engineer old outdated photos of my house. Claim Denied again, so now I get to watch my neighbors get their homes fixed, how conveinate!!!! Yet engineer doesn't work for them!!!!! Won't be with auto- owners next year!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Huntington, IN
    • 41 Year Old Male
    • Customer for 6 Months - 1 Year
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 2 of 2 people found the following review helpful.

    Worthless, July, 2019

    Had a hailstorm on 5/16/2019 and again on 5/18/2019. Turned in claim, claim advisor didn't introduce himself but did state" I just denied a claim down the road for no hail damage, so I'm sure I won't find any here either." Argued with me and the roofing contractor until I told him to get off my property. Claim Denied. Called and spoke with Gerald Valesquez- very rude guy; had to to speak with his supervisor who was also rude. They refused to send another advisor until I threatened to turn them into the state . Decided to send a state engineer named Chris Dick. I was told the engineer wouldn't know about the claim before arriving, however, they sent the engineer old outdated photos of my house. Claim Denied again, so now I get to watch my neighbors get their homes fixed, how conveinate!!!! Yet engineer doesn't work for them!!!!! Won't be with auto- owners next year!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Huntington, IN
    • 41 Year Old Male
    • Customer for 6 Months - 1 Year
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 2 of 2 people found the following review helpful.

    company didn't renew after claim, March, 2019

    I have had auto owners for years and filled a claim for water damage after the polar votex -1st time claim. they paid about $700 plus deducting my $500 0f the $1100 claim. then they wanted me to tell them when it was fixed,and also sending a notice of non-renewel.then recieved a second notice they had jmi reports inspect my roof for some reason -not part of the claim now I'm considered high risk even after I recieved a notice again of now i;'m uninsurable and will cancel on may 18th,2019.What a rotten company and causing me problems due to a small claim.they can cancel me but I'm going to sue them for rating me unjustly due to my claim.They didn't have a problem taking my money for premiums all these years,what a joke.I'm pissed off!!!.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Vermontville, MI
    • 59 Year Old Male
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 2 of 2 people found the following review helpful.

    insurance cancelled because Imigtht file a claim, April, 2018

    I had been with this company for 12 years. I had some problems with my flooring in the kitchen area. I went to my local agent to explain to explain the problem and that I may be filing a claim. He told me I need to get a contractor to look at the problem so it could be determined if my insurance covered it. Before I could get a contractor,, They had local people come take pictures of my house (with my permission) . The next month I received a letter stating my insurance will not be renewed This is the kind of information that should be known to public. They did not give me a chance to fix the problem. They just did not want to pay out any money. This should tell you what this company stands for. In my opinion they are garbage, I any going to get to get the word out about what type of company this really is. A total fraud!

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Blackstone, VA
    • 51 Year Old Male
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 2 of 2 people found the following review helpful.

    Worst company ever!, March, 2018

    20 Plus year's with no claims or late payments. And after our home was destroyed by a fire . The adjuster came right out and gave us a check for living expenses. We were fooled to belive that everything was going to be ok. Going on a year later were not even close to a settlement. I could go on but there's no point. Find some other company.......

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Baldwin, MI
    • 48 Year Old Male
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 2 of 2 people found the following review helpful.

    deserve a zero rating., April, 2017

    I've had insurance with Auto owners for years. I have damage to my roof due to 60+ mile an hour wind gust. I have an roof with interlocking shingles,which aren't made anymore.I got 3 estimates and the 3 companies said the same things and that was since the shingles can't be replaced or matched, the policy is to replace the roof. I have a small Bungalo. Auto Owners Rep. said since you can't see the Front and Back of the house at the same time, they will pay for only the Back. If I sold my house, the Buyer could ask to have the asking price reduced because they want the front and back of the roof to look the same.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Cleveland, OH
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 2 of 2 people found the following review helpful.

    Ok untill you make a claim, March, 2017

    Strongly advised do not purchase anything from Auto-Owners Insurance as long as they are using Casey D. as their adjuster. You will regret this. Following water damage we had to relocate 286 year old handicapped individuals who can barely walk and now the adjuster is putting up a big stink and for part of the electrical cost after having to replace the electrical switches and Outlets. This is clearly covered in our contract but they still don't care and the agent says he can't help. This is the first claim on this company after many many many years of paying premiums and the inconvenience of having to move out of the house with two individuals that can barely walk was not an easy task. The agent said there is plenty of coverage to assist these people but the agent has no cares at all. He wanted yet another quote from somebody he knows that's out of town. That individual does not want to come and give an estimate without getting paid for that estimate. We have a licensed contractor we want to use which I'm sure would be competitive or less anyway. I am still fighting this but please be aware that I strongly suggest not going to Auto-Owners Insurance company for anything if they use this particular adjuster. You will have a fight on your hands and be very frustrated and it is not worth it. There are plenty of other insurance companies out there. read the reviews before you purchase.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Muskegon, MI
    • 60 Year Old Male
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 2 of 2 people found the following review helpful.

    Wonderful Service, December, 2016

    We had water flood in house after hose broke under sink and water reached 6 rooms. We called auto owners agent and he sent Service Pro to begin water removal and drying of walls and flooring. The agent was there immediately to check on damage and work being done. Work was done in 6 weeks and Auto Owners made sure we were happy with work and paid all costs immediately.

    Cannot say enough good things about agent, Steve Lopez and coverage from this company.

    DEFINITELY RECOMMEND THIS COMPANY!

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Chandler, AZ
    • 78 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 28 of 29 people found the following review helpful.

    Underpaid for Fire Loss, December, 2016

    My wife and I have a lake cabin (HAD) until the neighbors burned it down while we were gone. We’ve been paying Auto-Owners Insurance (AOI) for ‘replacement value’ home insurance since 2010. It burned down 227 days ago & still we have been unable to begin to rebuild. We’ve been begging, pleading, & negotiating for a fair plan affording us to reconstruct our home. The only effort AOI has shown is to delay which now results in winter conditions for a rebuild. AOI STILL a) refuses to pay for a rebuild in winter despite delaying us until winter, b) refuses to pay closing costs for our construction loan & mortgage loan, c) refuses to pay all demolition & disposal costs. AOI lacks cooperation, lacks character & are unsuitable to be

    providing home insurance. We want our fully insured cabin back & the fact it won’t be within a year’s time is absolutely unacceptable. You would be far better off if you never use AOI for home insurance! Also, the adjuster has been extremely poor at communicating although I believe that was a tactic. If you don't know your policy in and out they will fleece you!

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Fergus Falls, MN
    • Male
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 23 of 24 people found the following review helpful.

    Hail Damage - Matching Shingles, December, 2016

    I have been dealing with the local Home Owners Adjuster in Minnesota, and he has been polite and courteous, so no problem with that.

    Here's the problem- Hail damage to roof, along with gutters and garage door. Several contractors looked at roof, and said that there is damage to shingles and the metals on the roof. Insurance adjuster agreed to damage to garage door, gutters, and metals on roof, agreeing to replace 5 skylights, valley metal, chimney cap, gutters. Also agreed to replace shingles around skylights, but didn't see enough damage to replace all shingles.

    Spoke with Insurance company preferred contractor - Told me that it wasn't worth turning in, and that he could put some new metal over the skylights, and to wait for next hail storm, and turn in all damage at that time. Also said that that gutters were probably dented from someone chipping ice out of them (who does that?).

    I'm concerned that the new shingles around the 5 skylights will stand out, and look terrible affecting my resale value.

    Auto Owners Insurance is telling me that they don't have to match due to faded shingles.

    I've paid a lot for insurance for many years, and have not filed a Homeowners claim. Now when I have damage, they don't want to cover it.

    Do a Google (or even FB) search on this company, and you will see that this is fairly common.

    My suggestion - Use another insurance company.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Saint Paul, MN
    • 49 Year Old Male
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 23 of 24 people found the following review helpful.

    Non response, September, 2016

    We have auto owners for home, car, and business!! Not pleased at all. We have had this company for 4-5 years and never had a claim. Our flat screen tv was damaged and they denied the claim. Out tool trailer was broken into and tools stolen and our home had a roof leak. All paperwork was submitted and an agent reached out to us and we returned the call several times and he will not return our calls! Very disappointed!!!

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Lafayette, IN
    • 36 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 3 - 5 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 18 of 19 people found the following review helpful.

    Ckng reviews before commiting to cars and home , July, 2016

    Thanks for warnings. Reviews warn that you will never be rated well if behaviors and practices aren't true and professional.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Macon, GA
    • Customer for Less than 6 Months
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 18 of 19 people found the following review helpful.

    77 year old owner of property, June, 2016

    bathroom wall had water drip not aware of.

    after discovery, had issue corrected. due to some

    health issues and my forgetting to contact ins.co.

    with information of damage to sub structure, floor,

    wall etc. with photos, pd. invoices for some time

    claim was denied .

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Tucker, GA
    • 77 Year Old Male
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 32 of 34 people found the following review helpful.

    House Fire - HORRIBLE Company, May, 2016

    HORRIBLE doesn't even describe AutoOwners. Use a different company!!!! We had a house fire. The cause was our neighbors house catching on fire and because of wind, jumped to our house and started fire. 15 months later AutoOwners won't settle the claim for the full amount. The neighbors home is rebuilt and they are in their new home. Their insurance, Citizens, contacted us to see what they were responsible for/where were our bills, but because of MI laws (which are awful and written by the insurance companies) we have to go through the settlement process with AutoOwners.

    The building inspector and a independent engineer stated in writing the house can't be repaired. AutoOwners says it can. The initial settlement offer, 1/3 of repair costs. DO NOT USE AutoOwners!!!! We will now have to pay a public adjuster and/attorney, lots of $$$ we don't have to try to get this settled. We have a policy that included full coverage and coverage that exceeds the current house value. In 14 years, NEVER made a homeowners claim, paid on time, never late.

    They gladly take your money but won't make you whole when you lose your home. Recommend you reconsider who used for insurance if you have AutoOwners.

    The story isn't new -- we have been disappointment in a car insurance, basically in two accidents in five years, both of which which we were hit, not responsible, our agent told us better to pay out of pocket then claim them. WHY?????

    They are a horrible company -- switch to a different company!!!

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Fenton, MI
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 29 of 31 people found the following review helpful.

    when you need them they run and then cancel you, April, 2016

    We had some when damaged on our property. It when unnoticed for about 6 months. then a roofer seen we had shingles off. I dont stare at my roof to see if shingles are off. long story short they broke my one claim into 3 claims charged me 3 deductibles paid 1000 then cancelled me. Very hard to reach nobody returns calls. I even called the tristate rep for ohio and he was the same. Dont use them...when you need them they are not there to help.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Waynesville, OH
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 13 of 14 people found the following review helpful.

    Worst insurance ever, May, 2016

    Filed a claim for hail damage on house and barns. Adjuster came out assessed the damage and said she would get the estimate wrote up and get the check sent out. Now over 4 weeks later I have yet to hear anything about it and they're now coming up with every excuse to get out of this claim. I will never recommend this junk insurance and will always continue to give them a bad name.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Warren, IN
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 21 of 23 people found the following review helpful.

    AVOID!, September, 2016

    Have a claim outstanding since May. Still no closure.

    Quick to take your money - not to settle your claim

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Rockton, IL
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 61 of 67 people found the following review helpful.

    Aragont adjuster, refusal to accept total claim, July, 2015

    Entire roof damaged by horrendous hail storm, adjuster wants to patch a 15 year old roof because in his opinion and that of their "Professional" 3rd party only 3 of the 8 slopes are totally destroyed and the ridge is only about 80 % damaged. Home office stated that they only replace what is damaged according to the adjusters opinion. I paid for a replacement roof and not a patch job that wont match. The entire roof is damaged but not to the extent and opinion of the company paid adjuster that is probably working an a cost savings commission. almost our entire subdivision got NEW ROOFS from their insurance co. Everyone I have talked to in the company, including Corporate, have a BAD attitude. My agent won't even go to bat for us. Read the other reports BEFORE you but auto-Owners Ins. Co..They even sent me an article from the policy that states THE COMPANY CAN'T BE SUED". The above stars were checked in error!!

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Ballwin, MO
    • Customer for 3 - 5 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 9 of 10 people found the following review helpful.

    Aragont adjuster, refusal to accept total claim,, September, 2016

    Our experience April 2015 was nearly an exact duplicate of the customer who posted from Ballwin, MO. I've even copied his subject line. Our adjuster was arrogant, smug that he knew it all, the Insurance company bailed on us by claiming little/no damage was done, while the entire neighborhood of over 75 homes suffered extensive damage. Our agent did the best they could do to interface with the insurance company. We can't trust that future claims will be honestly addressed. We insure two homes and two autos with this company. We're considering taking our business elsewhere for insurance needs. Unfortunately, a change in ins co. might mean we have to change our agent.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Whitehouse, OH
    • Female
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 9 of 10 people found the following review helpful.

    When I missed a payment by three day, September, 2016

    To start I paid more then the premium. They send a check of sixty dollars back. I missed the payment by three day and was cancelled, asked to be reinstated but was denied. Then the nightmare started a week before my birthday my house burned. I lose everything a friend died in the fire. Have struggled to survive in a way that is. But I thank the red Cross for the help think to be dropped after ten plus year?

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Huntsville, AL
    • 44 Year Old Male
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 41 of 46 people found the following review helpful.

    Horrible, Just Horrible, July, 2015

    One word I can come up with is horrible. Nearly a year later and we are still dealing with Auto Owners. They have taken every opportunity to screw us over. Please, please, PLEASE stay away from Auto Owners, or hope you never have a claim.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Waseca, MN
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 31 of 35 people found the following review helpful.

    THIS COMPANY IS THE WORST!, August, 2015

    submitted a claim for damage to roof from major storm. Their customer service SUCKS! No one was ever in the office to answer questions. It took 2 weeks to get an adjuster to look at damage and of course they low balled the hell out of it. Would not recommend this company to my worst enemy. I still have not received check and it has been 3 weeks. STAY AWAY!

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Cincinnati, OH
    • Customer for 1 - 2 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 46 of 52 people found the following review helpful.

    Auto Owners rips off little old lady, May, 2015

    My 83 year old mother had been a loyal customer with Dawson Insurance in Fargo. She purchased an Auto Owners homeowners policy from them. Her shower leaked and ruined the wall and flooring. It took a year of negotiations to have them tell us they weren't going to pay. It cost almost $20,000 for repairs out of our pocket. No reason to have insurance from a company like that. I use Liberty Mutual. When I make a claim, I have a check in less than a week.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Phoenix, AZ
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 38 of 43 people found the following review helpful.

    Terrible Insurer!, August, 2015

    We had a hail storm in April of this year. Two roofers looked at our roof and found damage, yet two 21 year old adjusters hired by Auto Owners found none. We are the only home in our entire neighborhood to be denied a claim for a new roof. We asked for a 2nd opinion--denied! Now have to go to Dept. of Insurance for help! We been with them for years and never filed a claim before. It seems they just want our money. BTY--their rating is just A according to AM Best.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Alpharetta, GA
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 36 of 41 people found the following review helpful.

    Horrible Company!, March, 2016

    I have been insured with Auto Owners for 20+ years. They have my home, business, rentals, and 7 vehicles. Every 3 months I pay thousands of dollars in premiums and have never had an issue until I turned in a claim. That's when I found out what a Ponzi Scheme really was.

    In January of 2016 my home caught on fire and suffered major damage. 5 hours later I had about 9 people at my home ready to help me out...... At least that was the impression I got!

    We were forced to sign paperwork that was pushed in our face by several contractors waiting to cash in on the big prize.

    We were then interrogated to see if we started the fire...... Then they started in on how much we owed on the home to see if we burned the home down to cover the payments.... Well I don't owe on my home so that was a short discussion ...So lets now investigate your business..... How much do you owe on that? Sorry, no money owed there either. How about residency? Are you sure you live in your home?

    So another investigation began into how often I was home and where I was when I was not home. They even interviewed old girlfriends to see if I kept a toothbrush at there house.

    The contractor they hired removed everything in the home and there is nothing left but studs.

    Now the insurance company is saying they removed too much! Now they have filed a lien on my home that was free and clear due to the non-payment of Auto Owners.

    To make matters worse, the contractor who they hired to remove the contents threw away several dumpster loads of personal items that there was nothing wrong with.

    Auto Owners has turned the claim down but neither I or my attorney really know why. When we call to ask questions, they are so rude its hard to contain yourself..... A bit different than when they are taking your money.

    If you have Auto Owners now, I would switch ASAP.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Deerfield, MI
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 21 of 24 people found the following review helpful.

    Wish there were less than 1 Start, December, 2015

    This is the WORST insurance company out there. I filed a claim on a hail damage for windows. Their adjuster approved the replacement of windows but did not give enough money to install properly. When I inquired about it they sent an engineer out to say that the windows could be repaired. No one will repair Vinyl windows. They will do WHATEVER it takes to NOT pay your claim. Then they pay an "engineer" to write a biased report. DO NOT buy insurance from them. If you have an unpaid claim with them hire a public adjuster. If they hire an engineer to look at your property BEWARE. Remember every state regulates insurance companies and engineers. BEWARE!

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Littleton, CO
    • Customer for 1 - 2 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 7 of 8 people found the following review helpful.

    Great Company with great service, April, 2016

    You always hear the bad stories, not always the good ones. I've been with Auto Owners for 6 years and filed my second claim. My agent Chris at William Knight Insurance Agency in Knoxville helped me out throughout the whold process. Within a day I had adjusters on my property assesing damage. My claim was finalized within about a week and my roof is now being fixed. If you need a good agent in Tennessee give Chris a call at 865-934-1854. I love auto owners.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Knoxville, TN
    • 63 Year Old Male
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 7 of 8 people found the following review helpful.

    Auto Owners is Horrible!, February, 2016

    Horrible is being kind... they took every opportunity to screw me over. What is left is a home that looks like crap. Would not match anything so it looks like a two-tone home. Deck looks horrible too because they only paid for half of it. Pretty hard to match cedar right down the middle... Any I am not the only one. I have neighbors who discontinued Auto Owners for the exact same issues. Just do yourself a favor and find any insurer except Auto Owners.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Waseca, MN
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 32 of 37 people found the following review helpful.

    Their Claims Department are almost non-existant, November, 2015

    We are going into our 7th week since a water line broke in our home in the middle of the night and the result, naturally, was a flood. The event was reported to our agent ASAP on the following morning and the Flood Specialist showed up as promised, For 4 Days we had 15 drying machines running in the house. The result of the incident was repainting of most of the interior, new carpet and replacement of the bedroom furniture. It took 6 days for the adjuster to appear and we've never heard from them since. I had to sell stock to pay the bills and get the house back in order. I continue to call but never receive an answer because it seems no one works in the Claims Office. This is the first claim we're submitted in 60 years. We're beside ourselves.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Hernando, FL
    • 82 Year Old Male
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 12 of 14 people found the following review helpful.

    Unprofessional customer service from adjuster, January, 2016

    Adjuster was more interested in flirting with workers instead of actually determining damage; all her measurements were wrong; very poor communication and interpersonal skills; worst customer service I've ever had in nearly 30 years of having insurance coverage from several companies.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Johnson City, TN
    • 48 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 6 Months - 1 Year
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 10 of 13 people found the following review helpful.

    mobile home insurance, April, 2012

    purchased mobile home on lot in fla. spending 3 months there during jan thru mar. for fire, theft and liability coverage. so far so good

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Arcadia, FL
    • 67 Year Old Female
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 15 of 20 people found the following review helpful.

    Very Great Service , March, 2013

    Help to impliment coverages that were right for me. Great rates and would cover my house with a wood buring stove.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Bluffdale, UT
    • Customer for 1 - 2 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 6 of 8 people found the following review helpful.

    Disappointed on what matters, January, 2016

    Cost is good; payment process is easy. But, when you need to get in touch with someone for processing a claim, that's when it matters. Very disappointed with AOI. Glad we found out when we did so we can switch companies.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Flowery Branch, GA
    • Customer for 2 - 3 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 8 of 11 people found the following review helpful.

    The worst, January, 2016

    I had major damage to my condo from a flood (plumbing leak). They took five days to come out and even then barely looked at anything. No photos, few notes. The guy was not friendly and had no answers. It has now been 12 days and we havent settled at all. They promised to send $1000 for a few days hotel or accomodations with friends or family and then sent $500. They are arguing that I should keep wet upholstered furniture like mattresses. They want to only pay $30 per day for temporary housing for two people and a dog in the Chicago suburbs. If tgey reapond at all hey are unkind. It's just terrible and I am beyond upset. What's more - the neighbor was at fault and his insurance will be repaying Auto owners the full bill, so they are out absolutely nothing if they are just fair and reasonable. My agent pretends not to know what to do about anything and wont give me any support or advice.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Crystal Lake, IL
    • Customer for 1 - 2 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 5 of 7 people found the following review helpful.

    Great experience, June, 2016

    Auto-Owners has been great! Our premiums have been competitive and consistent for many years. They have treated us fairly and promptly during claim situations. All of our questions about billing have been explained. They also encouraged us to take advantage of other discounts that we didn't know about. I would recommend them to anyone.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Wooster, OH
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 7 of 10 people found the following review helpful.

    Horrible , January, 2016

    We filed two claims in 3 years, one was for a leak in our living room and we had to fight with them to get them to cover the damage and one was for my our car that got broken into and all my husbands tools where stolen, we were told to file it under our homeowners as it happened on our property. Everything was fine until they dropped our homeowners several months later stating we had flied too many claims in a 3 year period. HORRIBLE Company and the best part was they wanted to keep our car insurance with them. DON'T GO WITH THIS COMPANY. There are better ones out there. Do your homework.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Salt Lake City, UT
    • Customer for 3 - 5 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.

    8 months and still displaced, May, 2018

    We had a house fire at the end of Sept 2017. It has been one delay after another. Waiting on responses from the adjustor and for bids to be "reviewed". Only to finally have to seek legal council. Now I find out that we have been lied to about our coverage and ill informed on things that they should have been paying for. It was hard enough to go thru the devastation of a house fire, but then to be treated the way I have by Auto Owners is a down right shame. Please save yourself a lot of heartache and avoid this company.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Auburn, MI
    • Customer for 5+ Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

  • 1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.

    lightning strike, February, 2018

    They actually paid us before we replaced our items. I did have to submit receipts for everything that was replaced, but I think most insurance companies require that anyway. Plus, received a 2nd check for the difference.

    • Homeowners Insurance
    • Warsaw, IN
    • Customer for 2 - 3 Years
    Help others find the most helpful reviews
    Was this review helpful to you?
    |

More About Auto Owners

Currently, Auto-Owners Insurance Group has offices in and can insure residents of the following 27 states: Michigan, Ohio, Indiana, Illinois, Minnesota, Iowa, North Dakota, South Dakota, Florida, Missouri, Alabama, Tennessee, North Carolina, South Carolina, Wisconsin, Georgia, Nebraska, Arizona, Virginia, Kentucky, Kansas, Utah, Colorado, Arkansas, Idaho, Kansas, and Pennsylvania. Despite its name, Auto-Owners Insurance group offers more than just automobile insurance. Auto-Owners' products are as follows:

Life Insurance
  • Universal Life Insurance
  • Whole Life Insurance
  • Simplified Issue Whole Life Insurance
  • Simplified Issue Children's Advantage Plan Plus Life Insurance
  • Annuities
  • Long-Term Care Insurance
  • Disability Insurance
Home Insurance
  • Homes
  • Condominiums
  • Renters (personal property)
  • Mobile homes
  • Farms
  • Rental homes
Automobile Insurance
  • All-Terrain Vehicles
  • Antique Vehicles & Classic Vehicles
  • Automobiles
  • Converted or Modified Vehicles
  • Mopeds
  • Motor Homes
  • Motorcycles
  • Recreational Vehicles
  • Utility Trailers
  • Vacation Trailers/Campers
Business Insurance
  • Commercial buildings
  • Business liability
  • Commercial automobiles
  • Garages & dealerships
  • Excess business liability
  • Employees
  • Disability income
  • Farms
  • Bonds

Auto-Owners Insurance Group offers a variety of discounts on their home insurance, auto insurance and business insurance products, including the ones listed below:

Home Insurance Discounts
  • 100% replacement cost
  • Dwellings under construction
  • Mature home owners and renters
  • Multiple policies
  • Premium paid in full
  • Protection devices (smoke alarms, deadbolt locks and fire extinguishers)
  • Renovated or new homes
  • Seasonal dwellings
Auto Insurance Discounts
  • Company Car
  • Green Discount
  • Group/Franchise
  • Mature Drivers
  • Multiple Policies
  • Multiple Vehicles
  • Paid In Full Discount
  • Safe Drivers
  • Safety Feature Discounts
  • Student Discounts
Business Insurance Discounts
  • Multiple policies
  • New building
  • Premium paid in full

The Auto-Owners Insurance website offers a number of features, including information on each of their available insurance plans, as well as a search box where potential customers can look for a local agent. There is a client center on the site, which enables current customers the chance to pay their bill or research specific policy details.